St Wilfrids Previous Events

Previous event info and results below:

9th AUGUST 2015


2015 St Wilfrids Winners – Matt Warren/Andy Pullan (Photo: Tony North)

Welcome to the third running of the St Wilfrids Classic Rally. The event will once again be a scoring round of the HRCR Clubmans Road Rally Championship and the new HRCR Premier Series, along with being a round of the NESCRO Summer Series.

The event is provisionally scheduled to start on Ripon Market place and will be based on OS Landranger maps 99 and 100. It will comprise of a scenic route of approximately 150 miles through the Vale of York and the North Yorks Moors. The route will comprise of several special tests on mixed surfaces linked with regularity and transport sections.

Regulations for the event may be downloaded HERE

The online entry form is HERE

Unseeded entry list is HERE

Seeded entries HERE

Results HERE

In order to run a successfully event we need a large number of marshals. Experience is not essential and everyone will be made welcome. So if you are free on the day, please come along and marshal. All offers of help should be sent to our Chief Marshal David
Wainwright via
For any other enquires, please contact the Clerk of the Course, Sam Wainwright on 01845 574209 or at

2014 EVENT
3rd AUGUST 2014

2014 St Wilfrids Winners: John Ruddock/Andy Pullan (Photo: Tony North Photography)

John Ruddock andAndy Pullan in their Ford Escort, pipped 2013 winners,Matt Warren and Cath Woodman, also in an Escort, by 4 seconds to win the 2014 St Wilfrid’s Classic Rally, after a late line penalty robbed them of a second victory. Warren/Woodman were best on all the regularity sections, dropping only 37 seconds to Ruddock/Pullan’s 1minute 20 but Ruddocks superior performance on the 14 special tests secured the victory. Third overall were current HRCR Clubmans Championship leaders Steve Entwistle and Bob Hargreaves in a Mini 48 seconds behind the winner.

Starting from Thirsk Auction Mart at 08:30 Crews immediately tackled two tests at the Auction Mart where the dubious honour of first retirement fell to Roger and Leigh Powley when their Porsche suffered suspension problems on the second test. Following the Thirsk tests crews faced three regularity sections to the north and east of Thirsk, passing through Bedale skirting the military training area near Catterick via a coffee break at Downholme village then turning south east to three tests at the Yorkshire Dales Autograss Club, before going to the lunch halt in Masham, where interim resuts showed Ruddock leading Warren by 3 seconds with Darrel Staniforth/Les Mcguffog in a mini 2 seconds further back in third. Not making it to lunch were Andy and Ross Simpson in their MGB which met up with the only piece of ARMCO barrier in the grass track field. Doug Smith and Brian Hughes had a near miss with the same ARMCo when their big Mercedes 280S refused to go in the direction the wheels were pointing on the muddy grass. From Lunch another Regularity took crews via Healey, Grewelthorpe, Dallowgill before arriving at Potgate quarry for 5 further tests. Another short regularity then took crews to three tests at Barkers Industrial estate, but the regularity didn’t count when the markers for the section start were removed after the passage of the first few competitors. A final regularity back took competitors via Cundal, Kikby Hill and Dalton to a final test at the Auction Mart where competition finished before a relaxed drive to the Angel Inn in Topcliffe for dinner whilst results were determined and awards presented..

A big THANK YOU from both the organising team and all the competitors to all the Marshals  who played a vital part in ensuring the event ran smoothly, your support was an essential contribution to the success of the event.
A complete downloadable set of results can be found here

a copy of the Road Book including Handouts can be downloaded HERE, and for those who want to compare their routes with the Organisers route copies of the Regularity maps  are HERE

2013 EVENT

2013 Event Winners Matt Warren / Cath Woodman

Matt Warren partnered by Cath Woodman emerged victorious on the 2013 St Wilfrid’s Classic Rally, after scoring consistently throughout the day to lead home the similar Ford Escort Mexico of Martin Neal and Andy Gibson, closely followed by the Austin Mini 1275GT of James Griffiths and James Howell.
Starting from Thirsk Auction Mart at 08:30 Crews immediately tackled two tests at the Auction Mart where the dubious honour of first retirement fell to the Alfa Guilia Sprint of Andrew Buzzard/Rob Lyne who arrived at the end of the second test without any brakes. Following the third test on the old airfield at Dalton crews then tackled the first of two regularities, where a number of crews, including one of the pre event favourites John Ruddock/Andy Pullan, were caught out on a not as map junction losing time that they were unable to recoup during the day. A series of tests at the Yorkshire Dales Autograss Club and a further Regularity took competitors to the Lunch halt where results showed the Warren/Woodman pairing establishing an early lead. Having professed before starting the day just going to ‘trundle around’ Suzanne and Tyler Barker in a Hillman Avenger were surprised and delighted to find themselves in 9th place at lunch.
Whilst the bulk of the morning action took place on the western fringes of the Hambleton Hills and the Vale of York the afternoon route was in the eastern foothills of the Pennines with two long regularities preceding five tests at the Melmerby Industrial Estate. Accuracy in plotting the route on the two regularities was at a premium and this caught out a number of crews who missed visiting two route checks dropping them down the order.
A final regularity back in the Vale of York took competitors back to a final test at the Auction Mart where competition finished before a relaxed drive to the Angel Inn in Topcliffe where results were declared.

Final results:

A complete set of results can be found here

A number of competitors expressed interest in seeing copies of the route of the regularity sections, we are pleased to make these available here. (Right click on the link and choose ‘save link as’ to save a copy to your computer)

Photographs  of the event taken by Matthew Rudd can be found here